Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    DJ 'H' Posts: 1,109, Reputation: 114
    Ultra Member

Dec 14, 2005, 09:06 AM
    Promised a pay raise
    So I have been working for this company for 8 months. 4 months ago I was stopped by the boss and told that they were really impressed; so they were giving me a payrise. Uping me by £2000 extra a year ontop of my already fixed annual salary. I was so excited and knew with this payrise I could afford to get a new car and even move out of my parents house into my own place. (Finally).

4 months later I have still not received my payrise and I am not sure how to communicate this to him. The boss is very intimidating and not approachable at the best of times. I have communicated it to the house manager who is a rank above me; but he did not really say or do much about it.

What do you reckon I should do?
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Dec 14, 2005, 09:26 AM
    Be humble but frank...

Friendly greeting, etc... then along the lines of

"I've been hesitant to ask, knowing you are very busy, but 4 months ago you said I'd be receiving a raise. Has something changed?"
    Ultra Member

Dec 14, 2005, 09:55 AM
    Thank you! Just need the courage to do it now lol
    Chery Posts: 3,666, Reputation: 698
    Gone, But Not Forgotten

Dec 14, 2005, 09:58 AM
    Rickj's advice is exactly what you should do. I sincerely wish you that raise and a nice car. Good luck, you deserve it.
    Ultra Member

Dec 14, 2005, 10:00 AM
    Chery!
    Thank you for your kind words. Fingers Crossed.
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Dec 14, 2005, 05:26 PM
    Sorry to say 'H' but it looks like you've been 'screwed over'.