Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Idrees Posts: 52, Reputation: 3

Dec 7, 2007, 12:51 AM
    Are Eggs and Seeds alive just like sperms of men?
    Someone told me that eggs and seeds are not alive so in this case living is produced from non-living. But I studied in biology that concept of Abiogenesis is obsolete and only biogenesis (living beings can product living beings) is accepted now. So if Eggs, Seeds and Ova of women are considered alive then how it should be explained.
    taylorryan Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Dec 7, 2007, 12:53 AM
    Well seeds contian small cells that are living.. waiting for soil and water... until then they store
    jem02081 Posts: 65, Reputation: 19

Dec 7, 2007, 08:28 PM
    You ask a difficult question which doesn't have a simple answer.
    Certainly everyone would agree that an egg is alive, but starting from the other end is harder
    Is a virus alive? Most biologists would say that all life is built on cells. Viruses are not cells nor are they composed of cells… they need to infect a living being (a cell) to reproduce… not alive
    What about a bacterial spore (endospore)? A spore is a bacterial cell with no metabolism, but an endospore can grow and divide if you put it in the right environment …alive?

Finally seeds! Are seeds alive?
    At one time, the theory was that since seeds consumed oxygen (had active metabolism) then they must be alive. But decay also would consume oxygen. At other times, theories were popular that living things had an energy or spirit that separated from non-living. But no evidence was ever found that support those ideas.
    So I would put it this way, biological life can make forms (viruses, endospores? seeds? ) which are not living, but which are capable of life. I would argue that your definition of biogenesis as living beings can produce living beings is correct, since it does leave open the possibility that a “non-living” intermediate can exist.