Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    [email protected] Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 1, 2005, 06:11 AM
    Does where u are from inevitably locate you in terms of class?
    How does where you live (type of house and region) affect your class? Does it at all? Any good thinkers I can link this with? Particularly, I'm studying the uk.
    Thank you so much for any help!!
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Dec 1, 2005, 06:30 AM
    I can give you my experience when a spent a couple of months living and working in the UK. I'm Canadian BTW.

I worked in a pub in London, right in W1. I love accents especially the variety of british accents. I used to have a little fun trying to guess where someone was from based on their accent until I was told this little tidbit: when you can place someone's residence by their accent in the UK you are basically saying that they have little education. Apparently the further you go in the school system the more your regional accent is stripped out in favour in the Queen's english. I'm not sure if this is a feeling all over the UK.

Hope this helps a little bit.
    DJ 'H' Posts: 1,109, Reputation: 114
    Ultra Member

Dec 2, 2005, 08:37 AM
    I am from the UK - and to be honest everyone from each county has a different accent but it bears no relevance on your level of education.

It's money that does that - the government tries to allow everyone equal opportunities - by provinding grants to university students etc.

But there are a lot of single mothers in the Uk with children - who cannot work; they live in council houses and survive through benefits - but each school has an offstead every year which makes sure the syllabus is being followed and the children get a high standard of learning.

There are many courses laid on at colleges throughout the Uk for all ages - but if an indidual cannot be bothered then that is their own lookout.