Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    starr34 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 20, 2007, 05:02 PM
    Inheritance or Gift and do I report it
    My father died in 2001 and did not have a chance to revise his will, so my sister and my mother were the only ones on it. The will was dated from before I was born and by the time he died my mother and him were divorced. We agreed to split everything between my sister and I. We sold the condo that he left, but because I was younger, my sister held onto the money for me until I was ready for it. Recently, she gave me this money in the amount of $10,000. Is this considered a gift or inheritance? Do I have to report it on my tax return?
    I'm not sure if the year is pertinent in which my father died, since the laws have changed.
    karent23 Posts: 133, Reputation: 8

Nov 20, 2007, 05:15 PM
    I'm no expert, but he died in 2001 so the inheritance tax should have taken place when everything changed hands.
    CaptainRich Posts: 4,492, Reputation: 537
    Cars & Trucks Expert

Nov 20, 2007, 05:22 PM
    I believe if you weren't listed in the will, it's not an inheritance.
    If it is a gift, you should contact a tax lawyer to find out how to file. Accepting this now, even as a gift, might not be in your best interest, financially. Look into this carefully.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Nov 21, 2007, 08:18 AM
    It is a gift, and is TOTALLY TAX-FREE for both you (the recipient) and your sister (the giver).

It is tax free for you because GIFTS are not taxable to the recipient UNLESS the giver does not pay the gift tax.

It is tax free to your sister (the giver) because it is less than the annual exemption amount of $11,000.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Nov 21, 2007, 10:16 AM
    I believe the excemption is up to $12,000 per year per person.
    Senior Tax Expert

Nov 22, 2007, 10:21 AM