Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    china_mm019 Posts: 22, Reputation: 3

Nov 28, 2005, 07:25 PM
    Is teaching hard?
    Hi, I'm in my first year in college and I'm plannig to major in education for elementary, I would like to know if being a teacher is too much, meanig if it's a stressful job or a fun job? Also is it hard to study to be a teacher, its hard for me right now, as a freshie but I'm worried that it might get harder as I go higher is is that hard? :confused: Thank you.
    nymphetamine Posts: 900, Reputation: 109

Nov 28, 2005, 07:44 PM
    I'm wearing pink pajamas
    You will be surrounded by crying screaming kids who's parents will be celebrating that you are dealing with themfor a few hours. No it is not in the least bit easy but you can make it a little easier and it can be very fun. My friends mama was a teacher for years and she tells me that teachers have it pretty rough.
    rkim291968 Posts: 261, Reputation: 34

Nov 28, 2005, 09:52 PM
    Teaching is not fun unless you enjoy working with kids and be able to stand government bureacracy. Without such dedication, it's just another job and you will be looking for another line of work soon after.

Try tutoring some kids first and see if it is your cup of tea.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Nov 29, 2005, 05:56 AM
    Teaching
    Hi,
    While in my early yrs, straight out of college, I was a High School Math teacher for about 10 yrs... going to college at the same time, majoring in Engineering, another Bachelor's Degree.
    Teaching can be fun, if you like children. If you don't, then find another profession. Elementary school is very challenging and rewarding. You might also want to check out the pay in whatever area you intend to teach. I finally quit teaching cause, at that time, the pay just wasn't worth it!