Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Teedoh Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 18, 2007, 02:56 PM
    Suspended License, Allstate Insurance & DUI
    I received a DUI last night because to avoid an accident, I spun out and ran into an house. I had a very low BAC level. I have an Illinois drivers license, and I am a resident of Illinois, however the license is suspended for not showing up to court for traffic violations.

The crash happen in California, and my mother is the policy holder.

I guess my question to everyone is, Will the policy cover my car, and the house I ran into... Although I got a DUI, and was driving on a suspended license. Again the policy is under my moms name.

Thanks,

BTW, I know I'm retarded for driving after drinking.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Nov 18, 2007, 03:25 PM
    From what I understand the insurance company can say it is fraud because you used your mother to obtain a policy.
    If they do cover it
    It will not cover the car if you have no fault.
    The drinking and suspended license really shouldn't be a factor on if the insurance company covers it or not. That is basically a separate issue.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 18, 2007, 04:12 PM
    The major issue would be that you were driving with a suspended license. Therefore you were not allowed to drive. Assuming your mother was aware of it, the insurance claim could be refused.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 18, 2007, 05:33 PM
    It is possible that they will not pay, but it is hard to say, all you can do at this time is turn it into them and see.

Since you were not suppose to even be driving. Was this your mothers vechile, whose name is on the title to it. I will assume it is your mom since she has insurance on it, so she may have to explain why she allowed someone with no crivers license to driive.
    Teedoh Posts: 2, Reputation: 1