Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    arthurbach4 Posts: 19, Reputation: 1

Nov 12, 2007, 05:52 AM
    How to set up a wireless network.
    So I wish to set up a wireless network to enable both a PS3 (which I have) and a PVR (which I am about to purchase) to stream media from my laptop.

I am a massive noob in this area so any help would be greatly appreciated.

This is the equipment I have:

Laptop, which has neither internal wireless or Bluetooth capabilities. It does have an Ethernet connection and it also has a connection which has the words "Expansion Port 2" written near it (if that means anything re what I am trying to achieve.)

Netgear 4 port wireless router connected wirelessly to my laptop through a 54 Mbps wireless PC card (wg511 v2)

Windows XP Home edition.

Ps3 with wireless and Bluetooth capabilities. I already have this connected to the internet through the wireless router. (just not the media server thingy.)

Windows Media Player 11 (apparently this is used in regards the PS3 media sharing)

-------------------

I will tell you what I have attempted so far and you can chuckle out loud for a while then see if you can help me out :)

I clicked on control panel>wireless network setup wizard>ok>set up a new wireless network.

I give the new network a name and leave it checked on "automatically assign a network key"

Now it asks how I want to set up my network.

It recommends using a USB flash drive which I tried first of all and it put some kind of setup program on there. It then said to put the drive in the wireless access point, then the other computer (which I assume can also be the PS3) and then finally back into the host computer.

The first hurdle I came across was the fact that the wireless router I have does not have a USB port!

At this point I am starting to wonder whether I have all of the required equipment (perhaps some sort of networking specific hardware is missing?)

Still that is what you are all for!