Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    skgowd Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 9, 2007, 02:46 PM
    CPT (F 1 Visa) independent contractor employment - approved by university
    Hello,

I am an international student under F-1 Visa status. I am interested in working for a company under part-time CPT. The employer however is not ready to give me a W-2. They want me to work as an independent contractor (1099 basis).

I had this employment approved by my university. My form I-20 also reflects that I am allowed to work for this employer. However, I am not sure if (as an international student) I am allowed to work as an independent contractor. I do not want to get into trouble over this. Please let me know if it is legal for me to work with this employer. Also, how do I report my taxes? Which form do I fill?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Nov 9, 2007, 08:05 PM
    I answered your question via email. Did you get it?
    skgowd Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 10, 2007, 11:48 AM
    Yes.. I received it. Thanks!!
    Senior Tax Expert

Nov 13, 2007, 09:17 AM
    Glad to help!
    raj83168 Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

Jan 27, 2008, 01:03 PM
    Please forward me that email too, I am in the same situation :((
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jan 28, 2008, 02:10 AM
    You can work as independent contractor. It won't make any difference to you since F1 (for 5 years) and OPT period are exempt from FICA taxes.
    The Texas Tax Expert Posts: 310, Reputation: 7

Jan 28, 2008, 06:43 AM
    We've answered this many times before. It is an immigration question, not a tax question and I don't see any qualified immigration attorneys on this site.

However, you should check with an immigration attorney because the visa status does not permit self-employment and technically that is what you are engaging in.
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 28, 2008, 01:36 PM
    I agree with TTE.