Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    andymmbell Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Nov 5, 2007, 02:15 PM
    My Monitor Shakes, roughly every 20 seconds.
    Hello, Im new to this sort of thing, but I need help.
    My Monitor screen shakes from time to time roughly every 20 seconds.
    Its not a major shake but noticeable, if you know what I mean.

I have installed all the correct graphics drivers etc, and its getting on my nerves.

Your help is much appreciated.

Thanks
    Lowtax4eva Posts: 2,467, Reputation: 190
    Ultra Member

Nov 5, 2007, 02:22 PM
    Is it a CRT? These have a degauss feature, it would be on the monitor itself, click the monitor's menu button and look around in the menu. Degauss eliminates static that can build up and cause what you are describing.

If it's not a CRT or this doesn't help then the monitor is starting to go and will die soon, have it looked at (or the cheaper solution) have it replaced.

To be sure the problem is the monitor, try attaching another monitor and see if you have the same problems, if not then your monitor can be confirmed as the source of the problem.
    andymmbell Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Nov 7, 2007, 08:17 AM
    Thanks for the advice.

I have reset my tft monitor to its default setting and it seems to have slowed down the shaking.

It now shakes roughly every minute.

I should have said before, that the current hard drive I'm using has been formated and installed about 60 times from new. ( I try new stuff )

Do you think that its my OS on my hard drive ( windows XP )

Many thanks
    Lowtax4eva Posts: 2,467, Reputation: 190
    Ultra Member

Nov 7, 2007, 01:51 PM
    I doubt it's a hardware problem, the best bet is to use a different monitor, have a friend bring theirs over or something and if it doesn't happen it's the monitor. If it does happen still it's the video card.

You definitely need to replace some piece of hardware. A bad hard drive or OS install wouldn't cause this.