Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pezzypooh14 Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Nov 5, 2007, 10:56 AM
    My Marriage is breaking down.but I don't want it to end!
    Two weeks ago, we celebrated our first anniversary by deciding we needed help. We talked about it over the next week and decided to get a marriage counselor. My husband's knee jerk reaction to the situation was to say he wanted to move out. Throughout the week, I talked to him and thought we had decided that he would not move out. Well, three days ago, he called me and told me he had gotten an apartment and would be moving out over the weekend. My whole family thinks that he has his priorities screwed up. I have been driving him to work every day at 6am for the last six months, and he got an apartment across the street from where he works because it is "convenient." I asked him why that was important and not what is "convenient" for our marriage. Two days ago, we were still talking about counseling. Today, he is saying he only will go if I want to go. I think he is bailing out, but should I give him a chance? Should I initiate it all? I want this marriage to work, but my family thinks I have given it all I can.:confused: Sharon
    donf Posts: 5,679, Reputation: 582
    Printers & Electronics Expert

Nov 5, 2007, 11:22 AM
    Pezzy,

How long have you and the cowardly husband been together? What is filling his head that the marriage is over? What scares him about counseling that is fueling his actions?

Why are you driving him to work? Are you currently living in your own home? Have you thought of moving with him to the apartment?

There is so much left out of this story that it is difficult for me to follow. Does he tell you whether he loves you? Is he violent or verbally abusive?

How would you describe your relationship with him right now, cordial, friendly or miserable?

Nov 5, 2007, 10:30 PM
    Hi, Donf...