Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Joleen31274 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 13, 2005, 09:12 AM
    My Computer
    Please help me?? I have Windows XP Home Edition Hewlett-Packard, when I got my computer I didn't know I was suppose to create a recovery disk. My problem is that I clicked on system recovery and now my computer is completelt blank. It keeps telling me to insert a disk but not too sure what disk it's talking about, I don't have any disk to begin with whether it's recovery disk or what. If that's the case how can I get one? Just to let you know I am just a beginner on computers.
    StuMegu Posts: 576, Reputation: 64

Nov 13, 2005, 12:42 PM
    I assume you bought this computer second hand, otherwise you would have some cd's with it. Try phoning HP customer support, they may be able to help. With so little information it is difficult to suggest another course of action, especially because you have no disks to use. Sometimes all the recovery information is hidden on your computer for use in cases like this. Tech support at HP will know whether your computer has this function built in.

Good Luck, post back with any progress or other details/questions.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Nov 14, 2005, 06:56 AM
    New computer
    Hi,
    You say that "I don't have any disk to begin with wether it's recovery disk or what."
    Some computer manufacturers do not send the installation CD's, and others needed, with a new computer.
    If this is a new computer, please call Customer Service, as suggested by another, and tell them the problem. Also, tell them to send you your Install CD's for XP.
    If you have bought a used computer, go back to the place you bought it and ask for the CD's for XP. If you can't get any of them, then perhaps calling customer service can help.
    If they can't help, you might have to buy XP !
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man