Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    AggrivatedInNC Posts: 3, Reputation: 2

Oct 29, 2007, 06:33 PM
    What kind of Lawyer to use?
    I work as a dog groomer in North Carolina and I am having some problems. I woman I used to work with is spreading unprofessional rumors about me and it is affecting my work. She is going into other salons in the area and telling people inappropriate things about how I groom and my lack of experience. Which is a lie and I have proof of how long I have been grooming. She has also been seeking out my clients and telling them this things as well.:(
    I do not own a company. I work for a veterinarian office.They know about the whole situation but I want to keep them out of the legal process. I know this is slander. That is what I want to sue her for if she does not back off. Tonight I went by her place of employment and spoke to someone working there. They are going to have the owner of the business call me. I do not want this woman fired. I just want her to stop trying to ruin my career.
    Where do I need to go from here? What kind of Lawyer do I need to talk to? Any advice would help.;)
    charlotte234s Posts: 1,903, Reputation: 143
    Ultra Member

Oct 29, 2007, 06:42 PM
    I think you could just use any lawyer, what she is saying is considered slanderous and you can probably sue her.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Oct 29, 2007, 06:44 PM
    Hello A:

I know, it's aggravating. However, even if you could prove what she is saying is not the truth, you have to show damages. IF you have not lost your job, then you have no damages.

excon
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Oct 29, 2007, 06:46 PM
    Libel, Slander And Defamation, Libel, Slander And Defamation Lawyer And Attorney By Location - Lawyers.com