Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Aniki Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Nov 8, 2005, 07:49 AM
    Skin lightening gone wrong? Please post it.
    Hello,

My name is Vincent Krouwels and I am a journalist for Leiden University in The Netherlands.
    I've come across research conducted in The Netherlands, concerning skin lightning products use among immigrant groups.
    Also, as I might not have to mention to most of you, the side effects of skin lightening (bleaching) creams causes serious health issues. Furthermore, the use of these products takes on an addictive mentality as you have to keep using the products on allmost a daily basis.
    Side effects consisted of: higher risk of skincancer, skindisease vitiligo, darkening (instead of lightening!) of the skin and the causing of bruises, thickening of the skin and yellow fingernails.

Are there people here willing to tell me they're story of using those products and actually experiencing the side effects?

Finally, I'm not here to judge you or tell you just how bad it is and to stop using it. You are all free individuals, but just beware of what you are about to apply to your skin. You only got one face.
    Skinwhite Posts: 77, Reputation: 6

Nov 8, 2005, 03:58 PM
    Aniki when you say bleaching creams are you talking about the ones that contain hydroquinone? Does this study include the natural creams that have ingredients like vitamins, fruit acids/glycolic/lactic, kojic, licorice, etc? Does your research show side effects with these ingredients?

Nov 9, 2005, 07:34 AM
    Hi,

Creams containing hydroquinone, yes. Also some mercurybased products I believe.
    girlalu Posts: 14, Reputation: 1

Nov 10, 2005, 06:35 PM
    Re: research
    Hi! Does your research limit to the whitening/bleaching creams only? What about whitening pills? If bleaching creams have hazardous effects, how much more with the pills?