Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    j007 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Oct 26, 2007, 01:25 PM
    Am I the right "Type" to homeschool my children?
    I am currently a stay at home mother with a 3 year-old daughter and a daughter who is in first grade in the public school system. I really want to try and homeschool, except for one thing, and that one thing is my concern that I would NEVER get a break from my kids. The funny thing is, is that I am a very patient person and I really enjoy being with my children, it's just that I enjoy being with adults as well. So how do homeschool mothers like me, balance that?

I wonder if I am the right "fit." I have a Masters Degree in Counseling so I value education, it's just that I am the "type" of stay-at-home mom that likes to be at home baking, cooking, etc... 1/2 the day, and the other 1/2 of the day I like to get out, visit with friends, go to the library, store, etc... with my daughter. As it stands right now, my 3 year-old daughter goes to pre-school 3 days a week for 3 hours and I really enjoy that time for myself but I can kiss that time good bye, if I were to homeschool!

Please, homeschooling moms, please tell me what you think about what I have written. I would love to know if you ever get time to yourself DURING the DAY and if not, how do you handle that?

Thank you so much, I really appreciate being able to ask this question.

j007
    firmbeliever Posts: 2,919, Reputation: 463
    Ultra Member

Oct 26, 2007, 02:19 PM
    I am not a homeschooler mom,but I thought you might like these links.

Getting your homeschool organized | TheHomeSchoolMom.com
    Time Management For Homeschool Families | Organized Home

About the breaks you need,maybe the kids could be enrolled in classes,for languages,art,physical activities like karate etc.
    And during those times you will be able to take a break from them and them from you.