Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cwashington Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Oct 23, 2005, 08:02 PM
    Toilet and Shower Drain
    Ok I recently purchased a condo and have begun remodeling the bathroom which is on the second floor. I am not very experienced with any of this and was hoping someone could tell me if what I have done so far sounds good.
    First Question:
    For the new bathroom I needed to move the toilet over 1'. The original piping came out perpendicular from the wall and then up to the toilet. Since I needed the toilet over 1' and I have no access to the pipe once it enters the wall (it is a condo so piping goes into neighbors property) I simply cut the existing pipe, added a 90 degree lateral turn and then came up to the toilet. Will there be any problems with that?
    Second Question:
    I took out the bathtub to put in a tile shower. The problem is that the drain for the tub was up against the wall (and once again the pipe goes straight into the neighbors wall so I have no access to it after that) and I need the new drain in the middle of the shower. So I cut the existing pipe and extended it about 20" so it would be in the middle on the shower. I kept the u pipe that catches the drain and then goes back up and down again (excuse my terminology) directly under the new drain but I was worried about the additional 20" of lateral pipe I added. Is that going to be a problem?
    Thanks for your help!
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Oct 24, 2005, 08:47 PM
    The 90 you added could be a place for clogs to develop. If you didn't use a longer radius DVW elbow, you might do better to cut it out and put one in. The extra 20'' on the drain shouldn't be a problem.

If some guy named Tom shows up after the hurricane and says something different, listen to him.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Oct 25, 2005, 12:23 PM
    First Question: