Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    vyki Posts: 65, Reputation: 5

Oct 20, 2005, 12:22 PM
    Plastic moulding
    What are the bits of plastic that are cut off and disgarded after the moulding process?
    I think it's a word like scree or scrag?
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Oct 20, 2005, 02:08 PM
    I think the most common term is flashing.

Oct 20, 2005, 11:26 PM
    Flashing is one of the bits you cut off. That's the bits that leak into gaps that aren't meant to be in the mould.
    But I was think of the bits that are deliberatley moulded and then disgarded...
    Sprigs maybe? The "sticks" that hold the pieces together.
    I used to work in a plastic moulding factory while I was a student and it's bugging me that I can't remember!
    Sorry I'm not explaining this well...
    Uber Member

Oct 21, 2005, 06:40 PM
    I guess you cut off and discard both flashing and sprules. (sp?) Runners too, the sections coming out of the molding machine and distributing the plastic to the sprules.

For a while, I managed a small vinyl compounding plant. Most of the pellets we made were extrusion grade, but we spent about one week a month producing molding compound. I saw all the stuff in the scrap returned for reprocessing.

Nice thing about this site is how easy it is to try again.

Oct 22, 2005, 05:09 AM
    Thank you, that's been driving me nuts for months!
    Uber Member

Oct 22, 2005, 07:48 AM
    Sprues, not sprules
    Like I said, it is easy to try again. I thought to look in the dictionary, and it was there, but no ''l''. It has been about 20 years since I worked in the plastic industry.

Thank you for you comment and rating. Unfortunately, it looks like somebody else gave it a bad rating. I have offended some here, and they are risking confusing people coming here for answers by giving mine bad ratings.