Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Gotogrrl Posts: 16, Reputation: 2

Oct 9, 2007, 07:25 PM
    I want to be a teacher.
    I have already gone to college for my first love theatre. I have been working in theatre for the last 5 years and as much as I have a passion for it I have decided it would be best for me to pursue another career.
    I have given in much thought and I thought the best way to do this was to teach what I love so much.
    Now I have no idea where to go…I have gone on to school websites and such and I haven’t had any luck figuring out what my next move should be. I am almost 30 so I would like to get started on this soon.
    Any suggestions
    clarebroderick Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 14, 2007, 10:28 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Gotogrrl
    I have already gone to college for my first love theatre. I have been working in theatre for the last 5 years and as much as I have a passion for it I have decided it would be best for me to pursue another career.
    I have given in much thought and I thought the best way to do this was to teach what I love so much.
    Now I have no idea where to go…I have gone on to school websites and such and I haven’t had any luck figuring out what my next move should be. I am almost 30 so I would like to get started on this soon.
    Any suggestions
    If you have a degree, its easy. Enrol at a university to do a PGCE (Post Graduate Certificate of Education) which lasts 10 months and pays around £670 per month. You will be placed in two schools - one for a few months to teach a 50% timetable, and then one for about 4 months to complete the certificate. You need to go to a couple of schools in your area to observe teaching before you apply as they will only tell you to do this anyway.