Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Murray rider Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 8, 2007, 04:20 PM
    12.5 hp BS not starting
    I've been noticing the starter making a very loud screeching noise every time I started it. The noise would last about 3-6 seconds and then it would start. Now, it sounds like the starter is just spinning and not attempting to turn the engine over. Does this sound like it needs a new starter?

Thanks
    mrfly Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Oct 8, 2007, 05:39 PM
    Sounds like it needs a new starter drive
    RichardBondMan Posts: 832, Reputation: 66

Oct 8, 2007, 05:50 PM
    I am not a mechanic but yes it sounds like either the starter or the cellenoid.
    Murray rider Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 8, 2007, 06:11 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by mrfly
    sounds like it needs a new starter drive

Thanks for the fast response! Can I replace just the starter drive or do I need to buy a complete starter?
    RichardBondMan Posts: 832, Reputation: 66

Oct 8, 2007, 06:16 PM
    I am not a mechanic but try Sears.com, but first lift the seat, get the complete model number like 917.XXXXXX, click on parts, enter the model number and see if you can see both the parts listing and an exploded picture of the starter, cellenoid. That may lead you to an answer.
    mrfly Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Oct 9, 2007, 05:30 PM
    You can just replace the starter drive
    MOWERMAN2468 Posts: 3,214, Reputation: 243
    Ultra Member

Oct 9, 2007, 06:37 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Murray rider
    Thanks for the fast response! Can I replace just the starter drive or do I need to buy a complete starter?