Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kdj Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 10, 2005, 04:44 PM
    3way or 4 way switches?
    I live in an old 3 decker that was recently rehab'ed and turned into condo's.

There is a main stair way that runs up to serve the second and third floors. On each floor (main, 2nd, third) there is a light switch that when turned on, will turn on a hallway light on each floor.

We want to replace these switches with motion sensing switches - both for safety and convenience.

I'm no electrical engineer - can someone tell me if we need three way or four way switches?
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Oct 10, 2005, 05:22 PM
    Where you have 3 different switches controlling one load, they are called 4 way switches and have 4 contacts on them. I don't know if it will be easy to find 4 way motion control switches.
    Borewyrm Posts: 65, Reputation: 2

Nov 29, 2005, 09:01 PM
    Actually this would be a 4-way system. However, the end switches would be 3-way switches with a 4 -way switch sandwiched between them. I wish I could help you but I have never seen anything but a single pole occupancy sensor switch. Another option would be to put another series of lights, possibly small unobtrusive ones, and use a mounted motion unit to operate them. One could add an override switch for them at whatever location they like.

Edit----

On further reading of your post... If the switch at each landing controls just that floors hallway fixture... then all you have to do is buy 3 switches. They do cost about 40 bucks eack but seem like they would do what you want. Leviton makes ones that should be available at any home improvement store.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Light switches [ 1 Answers ]