Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    slowandeasy Posts: 353, Reputation: 14

Sep 26, 2007, 11:09 AM
    Information online banking
    Hello
    Just a quick question if you sign up for online banking how safe is it? My bank says it would be eaiser for me to do banking online and pay my bills since it so hard for me to get around I quess I just wonder about safety I worry someone would get my information
    Any thoughts?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Sep 26, 2007, 11:12 AM
    I've been using online banking for close to 20 years now. Even before the WEB when I dialed directly into my bank via a dialup modem. I have been very happy with it and have never had any major instances of lost money, identity theft etc. The convenience is fantastic.
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Sep 26, 2007, 11:12 AM
    I can't imagine living without it. I bank from home and from work. In my esteemed opinion it's safe. As with any security/privacy related application make sure you protect your computer with good antivirus and anti-malware applications so that nothing gets installed that gathers your keystrokes (that's the only danger I see). I have had no issues with security at all.

Sep 26, 2007, 11:30 AM
    Thanks ScottGem and NeedKarma

I will sign up for it. This may sound dumb but how does it work as far as paying your bills ?
    Can you see the transactions as you do them and do you have to notify say your phone company that you will be paying on line? I am from the old school and computers are still somewhat new to me when it comes to things like that
    Uber Member

Sep 26, 2007, 11:36 AM
    There should be an area on the website where you select the companies which will accept online payments. Then you have to enter your account number for each company/payee. My service remmebers all that info so that I just have to select the payee from a drop-down box.

Sep 26, 2007, 11:40 AM