Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mtnbkr Posts: 83, Reputation: 2

Sep 24, 2007, 01:56 PM
    Compression fitting in wall and water heater connection
    So from what I gather, it sounds like it's not recommended for in wall application. I guess I don't really need it to be in wall, and can just leave it unfinished. Just trying to hear what people think. Any code problems in Maryland?

Now for the water heater. What I'm trying to do is move my hot water heater about 4 feet over from where it currently is. I currently have all sweat connections w/ copper. I'm moving the hot water heater closer to where the copper is coming from, so will need to cut it down (does that make sense... I won't need to extend it out or anything). Therefore, what I'm thinking is I'll cut off about 4 feet, roughly the distance I want to move, then put compression to 3/4 cpvc adapters on. I don't want to make any sweat connections, since I've never done that before. Then I was going to run CPVC down from the ceiling where the copper is, down close to the water heater. From there, solvent on some npt threads (using roughly 2 wraps of teflon tape... right?), then get some flexible water heater connectors to go from there to the heater, then back out. Anything wrong with this?

Thanks.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Sep 24, 2007, 03:47 PM
    Why convert to CPVC? Why not keep it copper to copper and use 3/4" compression couplings,(see image) if you're going to keep it out the wall?
    Good luck, Tom
    harleygirl52 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Sep 24, 2007, 03:49 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by mtnbkr
    So from what I gather, it sounds like it's not recommended for in wall application. I guess I don't really need it to be in wall, and can just leave it unfinished. Just trying to hear what people think. Any code problems in Maryland?