Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Varoth Posts: 58, Reputation: 2

Sep 20, 2007, 02:24 PM
    GT problems
    I am a gifted and talented student, and I am constantly pressured to do much much better. However, I don't want to. I procrastinate, I'm lazy, ambition less, the only reason I am GT is because I had a college level vocab in third grade( I read a lot).I just want to be in the middle of the pack. My question is, is it right to always push kids so hard, even if they don't want to.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Sep 20, 2007, 02:46 PM
    This is one of the pitfalls that I warn parents about when labeling their children gifted. Many may be gifted only until, say, middle school for example, when they level off, or their peers catch up with them.

I personally don't think it is right to push children and let them learn and do things at their own pace and pretty much in their own time.

Is there a counselor you can talk to at school?
    Varoth Posts: 58, Reputation: 2

Sep 20, 2007, 03:10 PM