Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    wzartv Posts: 402, Reputation: 21

Sep 26, 2005, 05:34 PM
    Computer Randomly Shutting Off
    Hello,

I work with computers and networks on a regular basis, so I have a decent idea with what I am doing, but I am no professional.

The PC I'm trying to work with randomly shuts down, usually only when in use, not when idle. The machine did have a worm on it, but the hard drive was completely reformated and Windows XP Home Edition was reinstalled. I am currently running good antivirus protection on it, and have not had any problems. Even after completely clearing the hard drive, it still randomly shuts down, just like it did before.

So I figured, along with the Microsoft website, that it is most likely hardware failure. When reinstalling Windows, I removed the case and gently cleaned out the entire unit and ensured all cables and parts were set securely. None of the original hardware has been removed or upgraded.

Today, I downloaded a motherboard monitoring program to try and monitor temperatures, etc. and most of the temperatures seem normal, except for the CPU temp which reads "-29 degress Farenheit" which is obviously incorrect. Could there be a sensor on the processor that could be malfunctioning, causing the machine to restart? Are there any other possibilities along this line?

The machine is a Compaq Presario 6000 with 2.5GHZ pentium processor running Windows XP Home Edition.

Thanks very much for your help!
    jduke44 Posts: 407, Reputation: 44

Sep 26, 2005, 05:59 PM
    I had a gateway at work that was doing a similar thing. It would just shut off but I am not sure if it mattered whether it was idle or not. I believe the solution was the switch. Just a shot in the dark but if it helps great. Someone else might have an answer that knows the newer computers better.
    StuMegu Posts: 576, Reputation: 64

Sep 27, 2005, 01:41 AM