Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Teetee Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 15, 2005, 05:55 PM
    Want custody of my niece...
    I want to take custody of my niece but I'm not sure where to turn. She is three years old and has already lived through more stuff than I have. My brother is in a bad situation and she is not being taken care of. I would like to approach him with this but I want to know the facts first. I also know the mother would have no problem signing over any rights that she has.
    A little background about me... Im 26yrs old, single, with no kids. I've had a steady job for almost five years now and have also worked a second job for almost a year. I graduated last year with my associates in business science.

Would I have to pay for a lawyer?
    Would I be able to get financial assistance for her?
    Is it possible to get temporary custody and get assistance or would I have to go to court to get full custody?
    Who would I need to talk to first?

If anybody has any information on where I should I turn it would be greatly appreciated. I can't sit by and watch her go through this anymore.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Sep 16, 2005, 04:49 AM
    Custody
    Hi,
    Your first step is to call a lawer. Talk with them, ask what the fee is for the first visit. It's the only way to find out the cost of a lawyer.
    Then, the lawyer will petition the court. After that, you will probably have visits from a court appointed person, such as Social Services, to check out your home, you, your environment, etc. They will also check out the child's living conditions.
    It would be a good idea to tell your brother what you intend to do, rather than have a person from Social Services, or where ever, knocking on his front door, being a complete surprise!
    This is a long process, and is in the best interest of the child. The lawyer will tell you what the chances are for success.
    Best of luck,
    fredg