Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pinpoint Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 7, 2007, 01:55 AM
    Convert vista file to xp
    I'm new to computers.I have new laptop on vista.pc on xp.tried to take file to PC via flash drive.wont read it.characters altered.does the file name have to be changed or...
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Sep 7, 2007, 02:30 AM
    The file must be corrupted somehow because it should not make a difference that you are running XP or Vista. What kind of file is it? Word doc, exe, etc.
    retsoksirhc Posts: 912, Reputation: 71

Sep 7, 2007, 05:38 AM
    If it's a file from any part of Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint), and you have office 2007 on the vista computer but not on the XP computer, you need to save it as a different file type. When you go to save as, chenge where it says "Save as type: Word Document" to say "Save as type: Word 97-2003 Document", in word, or the file type you want to use (not sure what it is in excel or powerpoint)
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Sep 7, 2007, 05:50 AM
    Thewre is no such thing as a Vista file or an XP file for that matter. Vista and XP are your operating systems and don't have a file type. So the key is what software you used to create the file and whether you have the same software on the XP PC.

Sep 9, 2007, 11:50 AM
    Comments on this post
    pinpoint disagrees: save as on vista asks which operating system compatibility is required.that is what I was looking for.

First may I call your attention to these guidelines on using the comments feature.

https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/feedba...ure-24951.html