Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MRA AZ Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Sep 10, 2005, 08:08 AM
    Hot water from cold taps when HW recirculator on
    My hot water recirculator is on a timer, and whenever it is on, hot water comes from the cold taps. After a minute or so, the cold water starts coming out. Any chance this is something I can fix myself (I'm a total novice) If I do have to call a plumber, are there any things I can find out before he gets here to save time & money?

Thanks
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Sep 10, 2005, 10:12 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by MRA AZ
    My hot water recirculator is on a timer, and whenever it is on, hot water comes from the cold taps. After a minute or so, the cold water starts coming out. Any chance this is something I can fix myself (I'm a total novice) If I do have to call a plumber, are there any things I can find out before he gets here to save time & money?

Thanks
    This is one of those problems where you have to be on site to figure it out.
    There could be a cross connection, it could be convection heating up the cold water supply. How many fixtures are affected? Which ones? How long before cold water come out of the cold water side? I'll wait on your answer.
    Regards, Tom

Sep 10, 2005, 01:23 PM
    I know the sinks in the kitchen and two bathrooms are affected, as well as the showers in both bathrooms. I have not checked toilets, the laundry sink, or the washing machine. I'll try to remember to check those next time the recirculator runs (just a few hours in the morning)

Thanks

Sep 10, 2005, 01:24 PM
    Sorry, I forgot to mention, cold water comes out after about a minute of running water.
    Eternal Plumber

Sep 10, 2005, 01:42 PM
    Sorry, I forgot to mention, cold water comes out after about a minute of running water.

Has this problem just started or has it been ongoing?

Sep 11, 2005, 10:11 PM