Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    NoSecurity Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 2, 2007, 08:44 AM
    Volunteers in africa
    Hello.I want to work in africa as a volunteer.im an english teacher.is there anyone here who has experiences? And where to go to in africa is another question mark in my mind
    firmbeliever Posts: 2,919, Reputation: 463
    Ultra Member

Sep 2, 2007, 10:13 AM
    I have never done any volunteer work outside my community,but here's a link for you to check on volunteers in Africa.
    Please click the weblink to find links to each organisation listed in this article.
    ---------------------------------------
    Volunteer Work in Africa
    Recommended Volunteer Agencies working in Africa
    There are many reasons people want to volunteer in Africa and it's important you choose an organization that shares your ideals and goals. The volunteer organizations listed below come highly recommended. I have personally known people who have worked for all of the following and have had good experiences:

Voluntary Service Overseas (VSO) is a British based charity organization which recruits professionals for two-year stints throughout Africa. There are a couple of youth programs available for 17-25 year-olds that require a shorter time commitment. VSO is one of Britain's most established and professional charities. While most of their recruits come from the EU, anyone is encouraged to apply. You can search for jobs by skill area.

Habitat for Humanity is a US based organization publicly supported by former president Jimmy Carter. Their focus is on providing housing for people throughout the world. Habitat offers paid international positions for 3 year terms. They also offer an international volunteer program which is a 2-3 month commitment where you are expected to cover your own costs.