Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    khyktn Posts: 10, Reputation: 2

Sep 1, 2007, 05:45 PM
    Hunter Fan Switch
    I was just wondering if the light switch on a Hunter fan has to replaced with a Hunter light switch, specifically. The electrical guy at Lowe's in our area says 'no' that a light switch to a fan is 'universal.' The light switches they sold at the store could be used on any brand of fan. Could anyone out there help me with this? Normally, I would give it a try, but this is for my mother's fan. She is 82 yrs old and she is convinced that it has to be a Hunter part (replacement part) or it won't work. She has pretty much been right about most things up to this point in my life, so I'm not about to start arguing with her now! :) :) Please answer this for me so I can go over and fix the light switch on her fan.

Thanks,
    khyktn -- this is my first time asking a question, I hope I didn't post it in the wrong spot.
    esquire1 Posts: 2,483, Reputation: 209
    Ultra Member

Sep 1, 2007, 05:54 PM
    The guy at Lowe's is correct. Replace it with the universal switch. After all, it just turns it on and off.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Hunter fan 3 pull switch [ 27 Answers ]

Hello: I have removed the well tec E116997 switch as the chain broke off in the housing. I have Replaced the chain but can't get the right combination of positioning to get the pull sequence. I can buy a 3 pull light switch but don't know if that would be safe.There is a Capacitor in the circuit...

17 Yr old Hunter Fan with Broken pull switch :( [ 6 Answers ]