Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    frizz1862 Posts: 36, Reputation: 1

Aug 6, 2007, 01:48 PM
    Buying a telescope
    Is there anyone out there that gaze at the stars? I’m looking into buying a telescope so I can start a new hobby. So what I want to know is what is one of the best and inexpensive telescopes on the market?
    jrb252000 Posts: 410, Reputation: 28
    -

Aug 6, 2007, 01:58 PM
    Well it depends how much detail you want to see and how far. I bought a $30 one for my son at Toy R Us and we can see pretty good detail of the moon but that is about it. I think other retail stores such as Wal-mart sells some decent beginner ones that are about $200 or less.
    You can maybe try the discovery store they might be able to help you pick out a decent one.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Aug 6, 2007, 02:28 PM
    Helo Friz! I have been an amateur astronomer for about 15 years. It can be a lot of fun, and depending on your interest level your expertise can grow just as far as you'd like.

There is a lot of good info on the web. Start here - it's an excellent site from Sky and Telescope for beginners:

SkyandTelescope.com - Choosing Your Equipment

Be sure to do your research. Go buy a couple of issues of "Sky and Telescope" and "Astronomy" magaizine - they are full of ads and articles from which you can learn a lot. There are also many books available for beginners.

In general, most will recommend that your first telescope actually should be a good set of binoculars. A set of 7 x 50 binoculars are an excellent choice. They're great at letting you enjoy the wonders of the milky way, globular clusters, and larger nebulae such as the Andromeda galaxy and the nebula in Orion's belt. Spend the time learning your way around the constellations.