Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Whuffle Posts: 19, Reputation: 1

Aug 10, 2005, 08:41 AM
    Protecting an invention?
    Can anyone advise me please?

I have an over-active, caffeine-driven mind! LOL, and frequently come-up with ideas.

Often these come to nothing, but some of my ideas might be worth pursuing.

However: I cannot afford the cost of patenting, and I am concerned about divuldging my ideas to potential investors or companies. IF the idea is worthwhile, they could simply steal the idea and develop it themselves.

Does anyone know how to go-about finding an investor while remaining protected somehow?
    tjr Posts: 70, Reputation: 2

Sep 3, 2005, 07:55 AM
    Patent help
    I know how you feel I have also come up with a few ideas that I cannot afford to pusue at this time and I'm also worried about having my ideas stolen
    I am not sure how legal this is but I have been doing it for a couple of years.
    I write out my idea with all the particulars and send it to myself by registered
    Mail when I get it back I file it that way if it ever becomes nessasary I have proof of when I came up with the idea. Hope this helps,and if you know the legalities of this approach I'd like to know,thanks
    Stopped for a bit Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 19, 2005, 02:35 AM
    Hmmm... only just arrived here, sorry about the delay... traffic... you know how it is...

I'm lost anyway... looking for the GFT Thread... but while I'm here...

Patent:- Is a "pay as you go" affair. Drop out any time you like. Before you waste your money search for similar ideas (uk & europe) here:-
    http://gb.espacenet.com/search97cgi/...b/en/quick.hts

You could try a "Letter of confidentiallity". Given to Investor / manufacturer to sign (dated) which states that they will not impart the information of your discussions to anyone else. Copies with Solicitors. This can be as detailed as you like.

Would do no harm to do the registered letter thing as well.