Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Momar61 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Aug 6, 2005, 11:11 AM
    Crown molding
    I need help installing crown molding. Is it necessary to use adhesive as well as nails?
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Aug 7, 2005, 09:42 PM
    I'm not a pro so this is just my understanding... somebody with more exp will give you a better answer.

The benefit of using a paintable, latex or siliconized adhesive caulk is that it helps the molding adhere (obviously) and it can also help fill in any gaps between the molding and wall/ceiling. This can also help you position the molding. Then nails into studs.

Can you get away without nails? I expect the adhesive might let you use fewer nails, but I'd probably still place some nails into the studs.

How big is the molding? I know some people also attach a "backer board" (my term... don't know what its properly called) to the wall first for greater support and some use glue/nailing blocks for even greater support with bigger molding. The bigger the molding the more supprt you'll need.

Again, someone with more exp can confirm this or correct my error.
    JCH Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Aug 8, 2005, 04:43 AM
    Crown moulding
    Hi Momar,

I've installed many types of crown moulding. Nails are just fine but if you want to make job easier use an air nailer. This fasten the moulding more quick and also countersink nails. Therefore no need to disturb perfect mitred joints by setting heads of nail.
    Also if your wall/ceiling isn't perfectly straight and you have small gap between crown and wall/ceiling, use paintable latex caulk to hide these imperfection and sometimes use caulk on "not so tight" joints.
    Try these tricks and your job will look great.
    Good luck.
    JC
    dherman1 Posts: 129, Reputation: 10

Aug 11, 2005, 06:59 AM
    What type of molding?
    Hi,

Are you using wood molding or synthetic?