Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    decemberist Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 30, 2007, 09:08 AM
    GFI trip with light
    I am not an electrician. I am converting a bathroom outlet to a GFI outlet. There is a lightswitch next to the outlet that shares using the load (red) wire. I have set it up exactly the same as the original one (non-GFI), and the GFI outlet will work, but when I turn on the light, the GFI trips. Can someone help?
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Jul 30, 2007, 09:22 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by decemberist
    I am not an electrician. I am converting a bathroom outlet to a GFI outlet. There is a lightswitch next to the outlet that shares using the load (red) wire. I have set it up exactly the same as the original one (non-GFI), and the GFI outlet will work, but when I turn on the light, the GFI trips. Can someone help?
    Sounds like you connected the light switch to the "load" terminal of the GFI, but left the neutral for the light connected to neutral on the "line" side of the GFI. Now think about what happens when you turn on the light - current flows through the GFI hot lead going to the light, but does not come back through the GFI on the neutral. The GFI senses the imbalance of currrent, and trips.

To fix it you need to connect both the lead to the light switch and the neutral from the light to the GFI's load terminals - the light switch to the load hot and the return from the light to the load neutral.

Jul 30, 2007, 09:49 AM
    OK. Sorry Im new to this. Im still a bit confused.