Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MEK Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 28, 2007, 01:15 PM
    Bankruptcy & Credit
    This is my first time on your site and I am fasinated with the questions and answers too.

My question is " I am soon going to court for a judgment hearing on a credit cardi in the state of MD. My entire income is Social Security. If this money is in the bank can it be touched and if so how. I heard that once it is in the account it is just money. Can any one answer this question?

MEK
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 28, 2007, 03:20 PM
    They can not garnish your check. But they can freeze your bank account.
    So as long as you don't deposit your check into the bank you should be OK
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jul 28, 2007, 03:38 PM
    While they can garnish your account, if you can prove all the funds are from SS they can't touch it. I would contact your bank and have them put a notation on your account that the only funds in it are your SS checks.
    mr.yet Posts: 1,725, Reputation: 176
    Ultra Member

Jul 28, 2007, 03:52 PM
    Inform the judge, at the start of the hearing and show that all money in this acccount is from SSI payments. Then give him a copy of the following.

For your information about Social Security Benefits

Safe from Garnishment

Federal law makes Social Security benefits exempt from levy, garnishment, and assignment- 42 USC 407(a) states. "In general the right of any future payments under this sub chapter SHALL NOT be Transferable or assignable. AND NONE of the moneys paid or payable or rights existing under this subchapter shall be subject to execution, levey, attachment, garnishment, or other legal process, or to the operation of any bankruptcy or insolvency law".