Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tjr Posts: 70, Reputation: 2

Jul 16, 2005, 09:29 AM
    Sub-contractor liability
    I am a resident of Michigan,and am a sub-contractor for a limo company.
    I am curious about a situation that happened to two other employees one was hit by a stolen car and was charged by our boss the deductible for the damage.the other guy hit a barrier and is being charged for all the repairs to the limo.both of these instances strike me as against the law.if anyone out there has an idea or where to go ask please respond
    thetachi464 Posts: 93, Reputation: 4

Jul 17, 2005, 09:23 AM
    I would cal the state labor board and have a talk to them. They will be able to tell you more.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Aug 30, 2005, 10:06 AM
    Hi tjr:

It really all depends on the wording of the "Contract" that the subcontractor is bound by. Get a copy.

However, having some experience in that industry, I suspect that you have no written contract. If so, then both drivers have a case against the owner. Small Claims Court would work, it's cheap to file a case there, and you don't need a lawyer. The problem is, you won't get hired by any other limo contractor in your city after that.

excon
    shenda Posts: 160, Reputation: 21

Aug 30, 2005, 10:43 AM
    Who is to blame?