Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    breezn Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 12, 2007, 07:44 PM
    Washing Machine Drain- How high can machine lift H2O
    Hi... Thinking about moving the washer down in the basement but the main sewer drain leaving the house is about 2' off the floor. There is currently a sewer lift installed for downstairs toilet that complicated cutting into the existing drain for new Y. Without getting to detailed, there is an existing 4" Y with a capped 2" PVC stubb at 56" off floor. I would like to situate the washer about 16 ft away and tie into the existing Y at 56". All plumbing is PVC. My questions are:

What is the required run/rise for this 16' distance.( 2 45's in it also
    Do you think Washer will lift the H2o after adding 56" and rise required?
    Do I need a P trap?
    Do I need to Vent?
    Will a veri-vent work?
    What are thoughts of letting washer dump into lift ( I'm not a professional but it sounds like a high volume of water for the lift and would rather let gravity do the work)

Appreciate the help.
    Kender Posts: 64, Reputation: 13

Jul 13, 2007, 09:54 PM
    I am pretty sure it can pump that distance. The problem will be when the pump stops the water left in the drain line flows back into the tub. With a normal short drain line its not enough water to be visiable see but with one that long the water might rise up into the spin basket. A check valve might stop that from happening but would require maintenance to keep it clean and working properly.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Toilet closest to washing machine gurgles and backs up when washing machine drains. [ 2 Answers ]