Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tmdelariva Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 13, 2003, 04:14 PM
    Novell
    I am currently a Network Administrator of a health care organization that runs Netware 6.0. I currently hold my CNA in Netware 5.0 and I am preparing for the CNA in Netware 6.0. I keep hearing that Novell is dead and I should not waste my time. I need it for my current job but I am wondering about future jobs.
    elina Posts: 136, Reputation: 1

Nov 14, 2003, 03:36 PM
    Re: Novell
    tmdelariva, hi, it's great that you are keeping up-to-date on your CNA certificate. Certainly it would be an added advantage and doesn't hurt to get the newest CNA for Netware 6.0. If you are worry job-wise, no sweat, you are already an experienced administrator, so you should have no trouble finding a really good job as the CNA is still in demand, even though more companies are leaning toward WINDOWS and as LINUX gain more converts, but this is only because it's cheaper to do so in the server market. Novell is still a powerhouse in its own right. And so what about WINDOWS and LINUX. In fact, even if you are concern about better using your time for something else, consider this:

In the latest edition of INFORMATIONWEEK, Nov. 10, 2003, Novell vice chairman, CHRIS STONE, at a recent press conference said: "Our objective is to reduce impediments to the (SuSE) LINUX in the enterprise.

And Novell chairman and CEO Jack Messaman said: "Novell has 80% of the FORTUNE 500 as customers, and we expect many of them will buy from NOVELL and SuSE."IBM, too, has an investment in NOVELL to help "SuSE build a stronger pesence in N. America".