Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    snprasanna Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Sep 9, 2003, 01:34 AM
    Direct Cable Connection using Ethernet ports.
    I would like to connect my LAptop to my Desktop at home.
    I know we should use a cross-over cable to connect the Ethernet ports. But I have no clue as to what are the steps / procees I should follow to mak this connection happen.
    I would like to have the step by step procedure as what is to be done in each of the units to connect the PC to Laptp.
    If there is any website which tells the same please direct me to the same.
    HelpmePlz Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Nov 18, 2003, 02:26 PM
    Hi, I am not an expert, I'm in the same situation as you but have bought the necessary equipment for the networking. I decided to go for wireless networking. Simply because I don't want to move wires every time I want to sit somewhere else with my laptop. The products that I bought were:

Belkin Notebook Network Card
    Belkin Desktop Network Card
    Belkin Wireless Cable/DSL Gateway Router.

Them are the items that I bought to use the same broadband connection and share files.

However, you may need something a bit different depending on what you want to do with the Laptop and Desktop PC.

The items that I bought cost £150.00 (UK Pounds, about $110)

Sorry I couldn't help you much,
    Hope it helps though.
    get_ask Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 10, 2004, 04:01 AM
    Hi ,

Usually in cat5E cable there are four pairs of cable.

Colours are as follows:

(orange & white orange)
    (brown & white brown)
    (green & white green)
    (blue & white blue)

Take the rj45 connector and the splice one end of cat5 cable insert into the connector according to the colour code given below either from left to right or from right to left.
    1)white orange
    2)orange
    3)white green
    4) blue
    5)white blue
    6)green
    7) white brown
    8) brown