Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tatork Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 1, 2005, 01:04 PM
    International and domestic cheap calls?
    Hi everybody!
    I'm a student from Europe here at the university of San Diego in CA. I have a big problem with my phone bills. I have to make calls back in the UK and Ireland where some of my friends and my parents live. Also I make calls here in the US. Used AT&T and Qwest but there are pretty expensive for me. I wonder if you know some other providers with good quality but cheaper rates?
    Thank you.
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jul 1, 2005, 01:17 PM
    Do you live in a dorm with hot, running ethernet? If so, you can have local service plus unlimited long distance to Usa and Canada for $27 a month including taxes. Don't know the international rates. Go to www.vonage.com. They provide an adapter between your conventional phone and any ethernet connection. I see ads for Lingo too, that may be even cheaper. I have been using Vonage for 2 years now as my only phone, and I am very happy with it. For broadband internet many students get free, I have to pay $45. I save enough on the phone, that I am paying about what I did for lower quality landline and dialup.
    Tessox Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 5, 2005, 12:04 AM
    As "labman" said, you need to have internet connection so you can order online prepaid calling cards. I am from New Zealand, now living in Texas and I had the same problem. I can recommend you http://www.calltalknow.com . I use them for couple of months and they have good rates and good connectivity. Also their site is pretty well organized. Take a good look at their plans. The "call" plan is best for me. Also check out their long distance section http://www.calltalknow.com/long_distance.html .They have a 10$ free offer.
    Good luck.
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jul 5, 2005, 06:52 AM