Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Romeo_Bravo Posts: 31, Reputation: 1

Jul 2, 2007, 02:45 AM
    Looking for martial art
    I'am looking for a martial art to practice. Point is that there are many different martial arts, and I don't know which one fits me best. I've been looking around on the internet and I keep reading stuff like "you dont have to be strong for this martial art".

Now I've been doing weight lifting for about 5 years, and, without being immodest, I can say I've built up some strength and muscle. That's the reason I wonder if there is a martial art out there where being strong is a virtue, or at least an advantage.

Furthermore, I'm looking for a martial art to teach some self defense, and to develop myself fysically and mentally (that is, mental and fysical development one doesn't get from lifting weights).
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jul 3, 2007, 02:31 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Romeo_Bravo
    I'am looking for a martial art to practice. Point is that there are many different martial arts, and I don't know which one fits me best. I've been looking around on the internet and I keep reading stuff like "you dont have to be strong for this martial art".

Now I've been doing weight lifting for about 5 years, and, without being immodest, I can say I've built up some strenght and muscle. Thats the reason I wonder if there is a martial art out there where being strong is a virtue, or at least an advantage.

Furthermore, I'm looking for a martial art to teach some self defense, and to develop myself fysically and mentally (that is, mental and fysical development one doesn't get from lifting weights).
    What you mean is you are looking for 'discipline'. Try your search using this terminology and I think you will have more luck. The problem is, physical strength and martial arts don't really go hand in hand because the two add up to maiming if used in the same context.