Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    annamarievo Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 28, 2007, 01:35 PM
    Birth Certificate
    After the babies & I took the DNA test to prove that "He" is the father, he refused to sign the birth certificate. Is there a law that will make him sign the birth certificate? Thx for your help!
    momtobe949 Posts: 78, Reputation: 11

Jun 28, 2007, 01:47 PM
    Well it depends on what state or country you live in, why do you need him to sign the BC? Is it for child support reasons? I am a lawyer and from the cases I have dealt with a DNA test rules over a Birth Certificate, a judge would rather see DNA results depending on what state you live in. As far as I know the biological father has provide by law for the children unless otherwise stated or ruled, again depending what state you live in.
    annamarievo Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 28, 2007, 04:15 PM
    I lived in CA, and I'm not sure what laws will provide! The DNA test is positive. He is the father of my twins. I will have the court appearance on July 12. Do I have the right to ask the judge to order him to sign the BC? I want my girls to have the father name on the BC for future documents. What are your thought?
    momtobe949 Posts: 78, Reputation: 11

Jun 28, 2007, 05:04 PM
    Well in California I am not sure that's not my jurisdiction, I don't practice law in that state sorry. As far as I know a judge could order him to sign the BC, if the judge sees fit. I could look into the family law in California let me see what I can come up with. Where I practice law the father has the right to decline to sign a BC, as long as he is providing the minimum child support amount each month.
    Sorry I am not much help I am don't really deal with Family Law, I deal with criminal law.
    tawnynkids Posts: 622, Reputation: 111

Jun 29, 2007, 01:06 AM