Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    blondiechika05 Posts: 65, Reputation: 2

Jun 26, 2007, 02:55 PM
    Going from Secondary to Elementary
    I currently hold an M.A. in Adolescent Education but do not have NYS Certification. However, I'm realizing that maybe I would be better teaching in an elementary school. I've heard that three years teaching in a private school can qualify a beginning teacher for certification in lieu of student teaching, but can I still apply to be an elementary school teacher when my degree is for secondary education?

Also, just as a side question, I've seen ads for positions that are "3/4 time" as opposed to full or part time. What's the difference?
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Jun 26, 2007, 03:29 PM
    In regards to your question about teaching in the elementary school, perhaps it would be best if you contact your local NEA or your state's board of education. Ask them as they would know the specific legislation and rulings for where you live.

About a 3/4 position. From my experience and some of the teachers I have worked with, who had one of those 3/4 positions - what a joke. You do not get full time pay or benefits but you end up spending the same amount of time in the day, as there is always those "as assigned" duties. You know how that goes. Teachers cannot just teach, they have to be the hall monitor, the one who waits for the bus before and after school, etc. and so on.

I do sincerely hope there are those teachers out there who have had a better experience with 3/4 positions. Maybe in larger school districts, there is more adherence to the contract arrangements.
    blondiechika05 Posts: 65, Reputation: 2

Jun 26, 2007, 03:36 PM
    Well thanks for the "3/4" heads-up, I guess I won't be applying for THAT position lol... I'm sorry you had to go through that.

Is there anyone from New York who can answer the other question?
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member