Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lennyd Posts: 26, Reputation: 1

Jun 23, 2007, 12:45 PM
    College Student Looking Into Buying A Home
    Hey guys, like the title says, I'm a college student looking into buying a home as an alternative to renting. I've rented for the last 2 years or so (an apartment) and I'm just tired of throwing my money away - thus why I thought it would be better to purchase a home and then rent a couple of the rooms out to friends to keep the payments about what they were for an apartment. My girlfriend (basically finance) will be signing the loan with me. At first I didn't think that buying a home so young was possible, but recently while talking to a real-estate agent, we got on the topic and she informed me that with my credit and my girlfriends income helping out, it was more than possible. She put me in touch with a couple lenders, which I'll talk about more later.

Here's some info on us - we're 20 years old, juniors in college, both attend school full time. I've been in my current line of work for about two years and make roughly $1600 a month. She's been in hers for about a year and makes $1400-$1500 a month. My credit score is about 740, not sure of what hers is, but its decent as well. We are looking for a traditional 30year fixed loan with as low an interest rate as possible.

Here's my questions/concerns. Like I said previously, I thought the idea of purchasing a home was only a dream considering how young we are - I always knew we could make the payments just fine (renting was a little more than owning will be monthly), but I didn't think anyone in their right mind would finance someone 20 years old. Low and behold, I was wrong - but even though we're eligible for a loan, I'm new to the process and, still being in shell-shock from this being a real opportunity, I'm afraid people are going to take advantage of me with bad rates, fees, or just a bad loan in general.