Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    alkaline Posts: 61, Reputation: 20

Jun 20, 2007, 09:23 PM
    Moodiness after work
    Hey, this is my first question here, I've answered but never asked. I was just sitting here thinking about something and I thought maybe I could throw it at you guys.

I'm a first year attorney. I'm on a fast track to become a full partner, my mentor wants me to take his place when he retires. I mostly do family law, but I handle other general practice areas as well like wills, real estate, etc.

I like my job, and I like everyone I work with. I don't mind being there when I am there, and everyone is very nice to me (which was not what I had expected at all before I started) and willing to answer any questions I ever have.

I have a wonderful boyfriend, great friends, and a good relationship with my parents. When I try to think objectively about it, I really have nothing at all to complain about.

Yet, for some reason, when I get home from work I am in a horrible mood. It seems to hit me when I am driving home or right after I walk in the door. It is strange to me, because I don't feel like this when I am at work, and I have nothing to be angry about when I get home. My house isn't even messy. I just walk in the door and want to bite someone's head off or hide in my bed and be grumpy all night.

It was especially bad today. I had to be in court early, and ended up having to drive a client there with me. I had to work late, and had to go to a meeting tonight anyway for work, so I went straight through and ended up doing a 14 and a half hour day.

What is upsetting me right now is that I was very mean to people twice today. Total strangers. I'm not a mean person, I never have been, I always try to be as nice and polite as possible to people, especially when they are at work.