Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    olivejuice Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 7, 2005, 12:00 PM
    Installing a PVC shower drain to cast iron
    Hi -
    I was wondering if you could tell me what type of adhesive I would need to attach my PVC drain to the cast iron pipe, below the shower. I have no plumbing experience and am trying to do this myself to save some $.

Thanks! :)

OJ Bean
    Flickit Posts: 278, Reputation: 2

Jun 7, 2005, 01:17 PM
    Try a trip to...
    Quote Originally Posted by olivejuice
    Hi -
    I was wondering if you could tell me what type of adhesive I would need to attach my PVC drain to the cast iron pipe, below the shower. I have no plumbing experience and am trying to do this myself to save some $.

Thanks!! :)

OJ Bean
    ... your best hardware store for a PVC to cast iron transition. Otherwise, look to Home Depot (or like stores) for a Fernco (trade name) fitting. These are quite universal and are usually found at the end of the plumbing aisle.

Jun 7, 2005, 01:31 PM
    Thanks! There's a copper nipple (not sure what this is called) already attached to the cast iron pipe. The old sautering is still on this and I can't get a good connection with it there. How do I remove the old sautering and do I somehow remove the copper nipple or reattach a 2 in. copper piece to the nipple, then put on the Fernco fitting? :confused:

Thanks for your help on this!
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jun 7, 2005, 01:55 PM