Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    csquared Posts: 38, Reputation: 2

Jun 12, 2007, 03:19 PM
    Cutting. I'm ashamed
    So I started dating a guy about a month ago and I let him know even before we started dating that I "used to be emo" (I used the word emo to make it seem less serious) and later let him know that I used to cut myself. I hadn't cut myself for a period of about 6 months and around the time that I graduated from high school I was feeling a lot of pressure from my family about the future and I just had to do it. When he saw the cuts on my thighs he told me that if he ever saw anymore he would do something a lot worse to himself. Well I just moved away from my home town and I'm going to college in a different city, with a whole semester jammed into a 5 week summer course and I'm dealing with a lot of family and social stuff right now. I couldn't stop myself from cutting last night. I'm afraid what he's going to do when he sees them.

I don't know what to do. Tell him or just let him discover them?
    What do I say when he sees them?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jun 12, 2007, 03:32 PM
    I would rather you were wondering instead, "How can I stop cutting?" When he sees the cuts (or even before he does), I want you to tell him that you need his support and love very much because you are going to meet with a counselor who specializes in working with cutters.

Then, um, find such a counselor and make an appointment.
    AKaeTrue Posts: 1,599, Reputation: 272
    Ultra Member

Jun 12, 2007, 03:45 PM
    I'm just wondering, what's "emo"?

I think you should get help for the cutting instead of worrying yourself
    About what your boyfriend is going to think or do.

I think it was pretty immature of him to say that next time you cut, he was going to do something worse to himself...