Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Family Law (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   How do I go about getting custody or guardianship of my nephew (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=336113)

• Mar 31, 2009, 05:37 AM
    brideb03
    How do I go about getting custody or guardianship of my nephew
    My nephews mother is willing to let me have him, she says she can't be a mother to him right now, would like to know what we would need to make this happen, paperwork that needs to be filled out, etc? This is not the first time she has done this, my brother is also willing to let me take care of his son, he is not able to take him in right now. Please help. He is also being verbally abused by his mom as she has told my sister's and I straight out.
  • Apr 1, 2009, 07:53 AM
    plantfreek
    The first thing I'd like to say is I'm not a lawyer. The second thing is that this mother is in obvious pain and distress. Only the most psychotic of people would want to truly intentionally want to hurt their children. This looks like a cry for help from both of them.
    Do you have a free Legal Aid Society in your area? If you do, start there. If you don't, do you have a friend who is a lawyer? If not, call some local law offices and ask them if they do 1)child custody and 2)pro bono work (free).
    Your next call should be to your local child protective agency and see if they have a CASA volunteer program and if so how can you go about getting your nephew access to the agency. CASA is a unit of trained volunteers who are advocates for the child and NO one else. They are also non profit and no cost.