Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Other Careers (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Workloads and Hours (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=104442)

• Jun 26, 2007, 08:14 AM
    alkaline
    Workloads and Hours
    As I have said before, I am a first year attorney.

“Technically” we are scheduled to work 9-5 with an hour for lunch. Those hours are sort of just the times that you *must* be working, if that makes any sense. They’re almost like guidelines. If I have court in the morning I will start much earlier, and there has never been a day yet that I have actually left at 5pm.

All that is fine, I don’t mind that, really. I knew when I started this career that I wouldn’t have a 9-5 job. And, since it is pretty much salary (aside from bonuses that are possible) I know I will make the same amount if I work an 8 hour day as a 15 hour day. That’s life. Fine, cool, whatever.

The way it works for us is we bill by 15 minute intervals. So, we have these little time sheets where we have to write down what we were doing for every 15 minute period during the day. This makes it tricky, because if you aren’t doing anything (or are slacking off) you can’t really hide it. Even if you lied (which is completely illegal and unethical) and said it took you twice as long to do something for a client, the firm will cut down your hours to the appropriate time your task should have taken. Most firms want you to have a certain number of hours you bill clients for, a minimum, because that is how the firm makes money and pays for overhead.

Well, my biggest issue is my hours and productivity.