Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Entertaining (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   How do you break into the modeling industry? (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=109098)

• Jul 11, 2007, 06:35 PM
    Lolitah_xx
    How do u break into the modeling industry?
    I have been wanting to be a model since I was little and my mom has always took picutres of me and I love being in front of the camera, modeling is basically what I do best! Well I'm 15 turning 16 and I think its about time that I pursue it.. I was wondering if anyone who has experience can give me some advice like what to expect,how to make a portfolio, should I have an agent or manager and yea basically that kind of stuff
  • Jul 12, 2007, 04:03 PM
    XenoSapien
    I'm no expert, but yes, you need to get someone to do the photography/portfolio work. It will also help to have someone with you during every photo-shoot who will defend you. Self-exploitation is an ugly nasty business, lolitah_xx, you are going to need protection. Does your mom support this?

XenoSapien
  • Jul 12, 2007, 04:18 PM
    Lolitah_xx
    yea she's happy that I'm doinq it because it was always her dream to be a model and when she found out I wanted to be 1 she was happy so yes she supports it but she's not really doing anything to help =[
  • Jul 12, 2007, 04:37 PM
    XenoSapien
    Ok. It's very important to have her support. The next step seems to be getting a photographer, or someone who can do professional work. They don't have to be the one you hire; you can go to an independent photographer that will make a portfolio for you.