Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Photography (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=255)
-   -   Confused with cameras... (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=754754)

• Jun 21, 2013, 10:13 AM
    sergie
    confused with cameras...
    Hello everybody,
    I am looking forward to buy a new slr camera, and I am not sure what a slr camera does. I also want to know what does SLR stand for. I want to shoot just the normal pics and shoot the videos. I am not a professional photographer and I don't want to be one. Also, can a 30-50mm lens camera be used for zooming like 40x or 50x. Is 30-50 mm camera and 40x zoom camera is same? Thank you all in advance.
  • Jun 21, 2013, 12:55 PM
    cdad
    You might want to do some reading in this thread as the topic was recently covered.

https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/photog...ne-737912.html
  • Jun 21, 2013, 01:08 PM
    farvaknowsbest
    SLR stands for single-lens reflex. It allows the photographer to see exactly what the picture will look like through the view finder as opposed to a non SLR camera where what you see through the view finder may not be the what shows up on the photo. Check out the wikipedia article for more info. If you're not a professional photographer than an SLR camera is probably not what you're looking for, but if you got money to burn than why not? As for you question about the Lens I'm not entirely sure.

Single-lens reflex camera - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  • Jun 21, 2013, 02:02 PM
    hauntinghelper
    Kind of my point too. If you're not interested in photography as a hobby or profession, why do you think you want an SLR? Even if you have money to burn, there are plenty of non SLR cameras out there that put out some great quality.
  • Jun 21, 2013, 04:45 PM
    cdad
    Quote:

Originally Posted by hauntinghelper View Post