Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Other Careers (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   No career with a deadend job and it bothers me (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=258919)

• Sep 10, 2008, 10:32 AM
    froggy14
    No career with a deadend job and it bothers me
    Hey folks,

So as the title of my post tells, I have no career. At 31, I've had about 5 jobs in my life(mostly retail, except for my current job),
    Graduated college, traveled a bit, wrote and produced my own CD and still have no experience or skills with things I feel are pretty common with most people in the professional world.
    I work full-time at a job that sounds good(if I spin it the right way, but it's really crap and I have no idea why I'm still here or what the hell I want to do still.
    I graduated with a degree in Music, but I'm not sure I want to even do that for a living- I do love it and I'm glad it's still plays a part in my life, but it's my age that's making me apprehensive about pursuing it.

I know that my personality isn't cut out for the corporate world. I'm a really creative person, but I can't find the medium I want to focus on and start moving towards.
    Being creative and making a respectable, secure living is what I think would make me
    Happy.
    I feel so behind everyone else I meet that shares my age or even younger!

I'm a hard worker when it comes to being creative and solving problems outside the box.
    I love finding unsual solutions to things and seeing them work.

Anyway, that's all. Thanks for reading and for your advice, should you have any.

Take care
  • Sep 10, 2008, 10:49 AM
    StaticFX
    Some things that come to mind:

DJ (like weddings, parties, etc)
    Writing music for commercials?

There was a local band here that used to write "heart songs" they were custom songs written for people.. like for anniversaries, weddings, etc...